
1905 Chapel




The white wooden chapel was built in 1905 by a Free Methodist congregation, as documented in the Deed Records of Nacogdoches County. Originally located at the corner of Townsend Street and South Fredonia (Highway 7), one block west of South Street, the church served its congregation at that site until the 1950s.
​
Free Methodists were known for their independent spirit and for departing from certain Methodist practices—most notably the custom of charging pew rental fees. Following World War II, membership declined, and gasoline rationing made travel difficult for the circuit preachers who served the congregation. The church eventually disbanded. At its original location, the chapel did not have a steeple, as a bell was considered a luxury many small congregations could not afford. A steeple was added after the building was relocated to Millard’s Crossing Historic Village.
​
Today, this charming turn-of-the-century chapel seats approximately 75 to 100 guests. The building is fully heated and cooled and features a working antique pump organ, piano, and chapel bell. The chapel is available to rent for weddings and other special events. Clients may decorate the space, and candles are permitted.